Academic Support Services - Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

Academic Support Services

 IMSA ACADEMIC SUPPORT SERVICES

Main Telephone Number 630-907-5000

College & Academic Counselors (CAC)

Collaborate in the development and delivery of college application materials, financial aid, college admission testing, as well as all course selection and scheduling processes, academic counseling and intervention programs. CACs also serve on a support team with other academic, residential, and student life members.

Room Number: A102

CAC link:   https://www.imsa.edu/college-and-academic-counseling/?s=CAC

Academic Support

Learning Strategies Coordinator

Academic support for students by overseeing individual and group interventions.

Amy Keck                                          630-907-5971                    akeck@imsa.edu

Location: A109 – Writing Center

  • Serve as Academic Manager on behalf of sophomores
  • Teach students strategies to succeed academically in one-on-one and group settings
  • Meet weekly with a select group of students who are at-risk, struggling, or as noted in Education Plans
  • Assist students in the transition to a profoundly different learning environment
  • Collaborate with CAC’s, Counselors, Staff and Faculty to support students with their academics
  • Manage peer tutor program with Area Coordinator
  • Lead weekly Strategies Meeting creating support plan for students with team

Director of PROMISE and Excel Programs

Dr. Anita White                                   630-907-5949                           awhite@imsa.edu

Location: E100

  • Serve as Advocate on behalf students
  • Teach students strategies to succeed in leadership roles one-on-one and in group settings
  • Manage PROMISE and Excel programs
  • Select, hire and supervise Excel and PROMISE tutors
  • Collaborate with CAC’s, Counselors, Staff and Faculty to support students with their academics
  • Attend weekly Strategies Meeting creating support plan for students with team
  • Teach Science Elective courses

 Informational Resource Center (IRC)

Research, Citing, Sources & Technology Support

IRC Link: https://www.imsa.edu/information-resource-center/

Contact: 630-907-5920 or irc@imsa.edu

Resident Counselors (RC’s)

Residential support and resource for students.

  • Assist staff with monitoring students’ academic success
  • Communicate student referrals to staff, faculty and administrators as needed
  • Serve as a liaison to staff in the academic building and parents

Peer Tutor Liaisons-Residential Life

RC’s who manage peer tutors within each hall.

Students should first seek out their RC for schedule and availability of resident hall peer tutors.   If additional support is needed, students should meet with the Peer Tutor Liaison in their building.

1501 Daniel Talancon dtalancon@imsa.edu
1502 Robyn Norton rnorton@imsa.edu
1503 Erin Ryan eryan@imsa.edu
1504 Dennsa Mohamed dmohamed@imsa.edu
1505 Moe Haney mhaney@imsa.edu
1506 Pooja Haney phaney@imsa.edu
1507 Mike Kolton mkolton@imsa.edu
Academic Support Supervisor Tiana Johnson tjohnson1@imsa.edu

Resident Hall Tutors

IMSA students who have been approved by subject specific faculty and staff to assist students with coursework.

Location: See your RC for more information.

Day Tutors/IRC Tutors

IMSA students who have been approved by subject specific faculty and staff to assist peers with coursework.  Tutors are available during the day in the IRC and Math Department as well as the IRC from 7pm-9pm on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

Contact Amy Keck at akeck@imsa.edu for more information.

Location: IRC & Math Department

Writing Center

Room Number: A109

Erin Micklo, Writing Center Director & Writing Specialist

  • Coordinate the Writing Center, including selecting, training and supervising Writing Center tutors
  • Works individually with students, assessing writing abilities and needs
  • Meet with students on an on-going or walk-in basis

Writing Center Tutors

Students who have been recommended by faculty to provide assistance with writing assignments.

Peer Tutors from the Writing Center are available in the Writing Center, A109 during the week and in the residence halls during evening hours.

A, B, C, D Days          9:30am-4:45pm

I Day                           11:00am-4:45pm

Visit the Writing Center in A109 to meet with a Writing Center Tutor or ask your RC for a list of Residence Hall Writing Center Tutors during evening hours.

Faculty

Faculty hours and offices vary per individual.  Please reach out to specific faculty to schedule a time to meet.

Support from faculty in a specific class is not inclusive to only the instructor teaching the class.  Students are welcome and encouraged to seek support from other faculty in the department, as well.

Faculty Link: https://www.imsa.edu/site_section/faculty/

Mathematics & Computer Science

Set support given to students on I Days with Mathematics/Computer Science Faculty.

Fall 2018 I-Day Review Sessions and MI Problem Set Due Days

Course Review Time Room Problem Set Due
MI-1/2 A, B, C & D Days N/A C Days
MI-2 2pm–3pm A150 B Days
MI-3 3pm–4pm A152 C Days
MI-4 1pm–2pm A152 A Days
Geo 2p-3p A148 D Days
CSI 12:30pm-1:30pm A133 N/A
Web Tech 2pm-3pm A133 N/A
AB-2 1pm–2pm A150 N/A

Mathematics Instructional Program Aide

Provides support in MI I/II, MI II, MI III, MI IV and AB Calculus

Ms. Christine Loos                 630-907-5486             cloos@imsa.edu

Room Number:  A157, Mathematics Department

Schedule:

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

9am-3:30pm

10:30am-5pm

9am-3:30pm

10:30am-5pm

9am-3:30pm

Science

Set support given to students on I Days with Science Faculty.

Course                 Time Room
SI Biology 12:30pm-2:30pm B108
SI Chemistry 1pm-3pm B110
SI Physics 1pm-4pm B116
MSI Schedule an appointment with your teacher (or stop by the SI BIO study session for help)

Grade Calculation

Students should refer to the class syllabus regarding point value of the various assessments, including but not limited to homework, exams, quizzes, and essays.  Teachers determine grades by total points or weighted categories.

I Day AM Study Hall

Mandated study hall from 9am-11am on I Days for students identified as struggling academically by their case manager, CAC or the strategies team.  Attendance is taken and recorded in PowerSchool. Unexcused absences to the study hall will result in suspension of residential privileges.

During the 2-hour study time, students will meet individually with the Learning Strategies Coordinator to review academic status and create an academic action plan.  Additionally, the Math Instructional Program Aid is available to provide with math support.

Room Number:  A152/A154

Coordinator:       Amy Keck             630-907-5971                    akeck@imsa.edu

Evening Study

Mandated study hall from 7pm-9pm, Monday thru Thursday in the IRC, for students identified as struggling academically by their case manager. Attendance is taken and recorded in PowerSchool. Unexcused absences to Evening Study will result in suspension of residential privileges.

Peer Tutors are available to work with students during Evening Study.  An IMSA employee supervises Evening Study.

Room Number: Informational Resource Center (IRC)

Coordinator:       Amy Keck             630-907-5971                    akeck@imsa.edu

Academy Advocate

Assigned IMSA faculty or staff to offer additional support for identified students to succeed academically and emotionally.  Advocates can be assigned to any student anytime throughout the school year.

Contact Amy Keck at akeck@imsa.edu or Dr. Anita White at awhite@imsa.edu for more information.

Counselors

The focus of the counselors is to address the psychological and social needs of our students within the context of research and experience from the field of gifted education. We are committed to the students’ personal, social, and intellectual growth, as well as their adjustment to and engagement with the IMSA community. Students are assisted with identifying and working through personal barriers, normal developmental issues, and stressors, and clinical problems, which could impede academic success.

Location: Student Life Office, C125

Kevin Kusy, MA, LCPC                     630-907-5988                 kkusy@imsa.edu

Education Plans

  • Manage education plans for identified students with diagnosed disabilities

Location: Student Life Office, C125  630-907-5574

Nurse

The IMSA Student Health Care Services Office provides health assessment and treatment for illness/injury, first aid, health counseling, administration of medication as prescribed by a physician, and other appropriate therapeutic interventions.

Monday-Friday from 7:30am – 4:00pm

Location: C117

Anne Joseph, RN 630-907-5008 ajoseph@imsa.edu
Angie Shoener, RN 630-907-5008 ashoener@imsa.edu
Dana Pflederer, RN 630-907-5008 dpflederer@imsa.edu